Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

New Cocktail – “Flu Shot”

"Flu Shot" Cocktail

Since I am terrified of needles, I have come up with my own concoction to keep me well. Obviously I am making no medical/health claims, but I did use 1/2 oz of Sambucus (Black Elderberry Syrup) by Nature’s Way in this drink.

Flu Shot

1 oz Hendricks gin

1/2 oz Sambucus syrup

2 Dashes Peychaud’s Bitters

Juice of 1/2 lime

Cold soda water

Shake all ingredients except soda with ice until chilled. Pour into glass and top off with soda water.

This drink definitely beats a shot in the arm.

On another note, regular readers may wonder where I have been over the last year. After being crushed by a Muni bus door a little over a year ago, I was unable to walk for over a month. That coupled with my annual bout of SAD and an extremely physically demanding job sapped me of my will to live, or at least any creative energy I had. The job is still taking up most of my time and energy, but I am determined to make the most of the days getting longer and the fresh start of a new year.

I don’t always have the time or energy to leave my neighborhood, so I have not been exploring new bars very often. That said, I don’t consider The San Francisco Bar Experiment failed or over. I am recommitting myself to documenting new bars, along with anything else alcohol related in my life. Writing strictly about going to every bar feels too restrictive these days, so I plan on blogging about cocktail geekery and whatever else seems interesting at the time. I hope some of you decide to read along during this next chapter in my life.

2 responses

  1. Sean C.

    Glad to see ‘you’re back’! Looking forward to more of ‘anything alcohol related’. On that note: thanks for another reason to reach for the Hendricks.

    January 18, 2013 at 12:21 am

Leave a Reply

