Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Underdogs – Sunset

Underdogs is the place to go if you want delicious crispy tacos with a healthy dose of testosterone on the side. Calling Underdogs a sports bar is almost an understatement. Everything in the bar seems perfectly marketed to the jock inclined under 27 crowd, from the huge televisions to the bucket of Budweiser specials, from the basketball game in the back to the barely legal bartenders. I’m not saying that I didn’t enjoy my tacos and booze- they were both excellent- but I felt quite out of place at Underdogs, and the bartenders seemed pretty indifferent to me, casting their eyes instead on the young boys who I guess are more likely to tip heavy in a bar like that. (I always tip well, btw.)

I’m glad there is a place for crispy tacos and beer in the Sunset, but I’m even more glad that I can walk to the original Nick’s Tacos from my apartment, where the crowd is at least ten years older and many decibels quieter. I suppose it shows my age that people screaming across the bar don’t do good things for my digestion.

The Taco Shop @ Underdogs

1824 Irving St
(between 19th Ave & 20th Ave)
San Francisco, CA 94122

(415) 566-8700

One response

  1. njjudah

    I tend to go there on off times when it’s not as busy for that reason myself. It is also good for meeting up with a group of friends at happy hour as well.

    December 10, 2011 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

