Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Terry’s Lodge – Inner Sunset

My beloved old man bars are closing left and right in San Francisco. Every time I discover a new one, I find shortly after that it is gone, to be replaced by something shiny and new and far less interesting. I was told yesterday that Terry’s is no more, and while I have not been able to confirm the rumor on-line, it wouldn’t surprise me if another amazing wonderful bar has given up the ghost.

Terry’s has (had?) all the qualities I desire in a bar. It’s totally rough around the edges, and in fact looks like an abandoned building from the outside, but dark and cozy and welcoming once one walks through the door. Terry’s Lodge is a true locals joint, but you won’t find any pretension inside, just hard working people getting together to share a few beers and maybe play a few rounds of darts.

If Terry’s Lodge is actually closed, then San Francisco will have lost another bar that can never be replaced. No one opens bars like Terry’s anymore, they haven’t for years. There’s no money in it, and the market calls for artisan cocktails and mixologists. I know one day I will walk through this city without coming across a single old school bar, and I fear that day might be coming soon. So enjoy your neighborhood dive while it’s around, and have a drink with your neighbors.

Leave a Reply

