Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Milk Bar – Upper Haight

Before my most recent visit, I had only been to Milk for late night cocktails and DJ’s, when the bar can get unbearably loud and crowded. The music scene at the bar is usually not my speed, but they have been switching things up, and a couple of weeks ago I went for a 1960’s Soul happy hour.

 

Milk is surprisingly pleasant during the early hours. The Friday bartender was friendly and attentive and made us several very solid Mai Tais with the orgeat syrup he brought from home. I hadn’t pictured Milk as having much of a regular neighborhood crowd, but it definitely does. The bar is quite comfortable during happy hour.

I do have a word of warning to those wanting to check out Milk. There is a subtle change of height in the floor in the middle of the bar, and I severely sprained my ankle just walking across it (and falling) in sturdy shoes. It’s easy to miss, so walk with caution.

Milk Bar

1840 Haight St
(between Shrader St & Stanyan St)
San Francisco, CA 94117

(415) 387-6455

Leave a Reply

