Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Minx – Lower Nob Hill

I am kicking myself for having waited so long to check out Minx. Walking into Minx is like stepping into my fantasy apartment crossed with a burlesque dancer’s dressing room, with muted lavender walls, leather couches, high ceilings, lots of creative and creepy taxidermy, and of course… a wall of booze.

Minx manages to pack a lot of style into a tiny bar, and they have plenty of fancy cocktails to match their snazzy digs. Their libation list is heavy on the ginger, with several of the drinks featuring Domaine de Canton. Cocktails run about $8-$9 each, but Tecate will only set you back $3, and they advertise several $4 shots, including my bartender guilty pleasure- Chocolate Cake Shots.

The crowd on an early Saturday evening was 99% yuppie, not what I expected from this bar, but what I should have expected considering the change in the neighborhood over the past few years. The bartender was quite friendly though, and at 7:00 p.m. the bar wasn’t part of the loud and messy pick up scene that now invades the neighborhood bars each weekend night. I would like to make another visit to Minx to check out the Sunday Bloody Marys mentioned online, but their website hasn’t been updated since 2009, so I’m not sure how accurate any of the information is. (Please comment below if you can vouch for the existence and quality of their Bloody Marys.)

Minx

827 Sutter St
(between Jones St & Leavenworth St)
San Francisco, CA 94109

(415) 779-6469

4 responses

  1. tk

    Minx is the old Red Room, right? I haven’t been since they changed over, but the 99% yuppies thing indicates it hasn’t changed much then.

    January 18, 2011 at 9:09 am

    • Yup, that’s the one. Like the Red Room, I like the decor a lot more than the clientele, but it’s not too bad.

      January 18, 2011 at 4:59 pm

  2. charlie miller

    you need to go back. minx is far from a yuppie bar. been there many, many times. can’t remember seeing anyone even approximately yuppiesque. and monday night is rock n’ roll trivia night

    February 4, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    • I never give up on a bar based solely on its clientele. In fact, despite the yuppiness, the patrons didn’t bother me in the least. The bar was quite low-key when I visited. I will definitely go back, although I am bad enough at music trivia for it not to be much fun for me.

      February 4, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Leave a Reply

