Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Jose Cuervo’s Subterraneo – The Sutter Room

Last night I attended Jose Cuervo’s Subterraneo, a Dia de los Muertos themed party celebrating the 250 year old history of Jose Cuervo. I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical at first, having no idea what the crowd or the party would be like, but the night exceeded all of my expectations. (The only low point of the night was losing my camera memory card, forcing me to rely on my cell phone for photographic evidence.)

The party was on the bottom floor of The Regency, always a beautiful space, made even more beautiful with the blue lighting throughout and furniture that belonged on a Stanley Kubrick set. My friend and I started our night at the food table, as per usual.

I was pleasantly surprised to discover the food was catered by 15 Romolo, a place known almost as well for its amazing bar food as its insanely delicious cocktails. Fresh tacos were made to order, with a dizzying array of salsas and condiments and possibly the best guacamole I’ve had the pleasure of eating.

After the food, it was time for the drinks. We started with both the “Vampire” (Jose Cuervo Tradicional Silver, soda, a dash of grenadine and Tabasco) and a cocktail of Jose Cuervo and Squirt. We giggled at the latter, Squirt not being the fanciest of mixers, but it was actually my favorite cocktail of the night.

Fortified with Mexican food and two stiff drinks, I then decided to give in to the night and have my face painted. While I’m not usually a joiner, the face paint did help me get into the spirit of the night. We spent the rest of the evening toasting dead loved ones with shots of Jose Cuervo and chatting with the lovely hostesses, who really made the night for us. Combined with an amazing Halloween last weekend at KoKo Cocktails, I feel like Subterraneo was an omen of good things to come this holiday season.

The Sutter Room @ The Regency

1270 Sutter St

San Francisco, CA


4 responses

  1. Sean C

    Tequila + Squirt = Paloma. Definitely a summer must-drink.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paloma_%28cocktail%29

    This does sound like a surprisingly fun event. And jealous on your holiday KoKo’s outing. That place is an under-appreciated gem. (Perhaps that’s a secret good thing?)

    November 7, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    • Thank you, I couldn’t remember the name of that cocktail! It was quite good, but it was funny after hearing the long explanation of the other cocktail to be told by the hostess that this one was simply tequila and Squirt. 🙂 I will definitely drink that again, though.

      November 8, 2010 at 4:59 pm

  2. Lucy

    Good afteroon, i came across your site when searching for more information on the 250th anniversary of jose Cuervo party happening here in Houston, Tx on November 10,2010. I’m skepitcal about going. Not sure of the crowd either. They sayits on a first come first serve basis. How early must you get there to be guaranteed admission and is it worth going? Is there unlimited cocktails all night? , or is it a set limit? I RSVP’s , is this really free , no admission ? Was the music nice? what did the crowd look like , and also their hosting this event in a nice facility in houston, is there a dress code or not? Do not want to underdress , but don’t want to over dress for the occassion either.

    November 8, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    • Everything was free at the one in San Francisco. There was no line when I got there, but obviously that is going to depend on the city and the venue. I think the dress code would depend on the venue as well. You would probably be better off contacting someone in Houston, as I have no idea what is planned for the party there, and I am not affiliated with Jose Cuervo or the marketing teams involved with this in any way.

      November 8, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

