Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Lush Lounge – Polk Street

Since the original Lush Lounge closed I’ve been pouting about the loss of my favorite early afternoon Polk Street spot, so much so that I hadn’t been able to brave the new location before yesterday. To be honest, I never liked the night time crowd, but I loved Lush’s gigantor bloody Mary cocktails, and the bar was never busy at 4:00 p.m. I used to spend my after work hours flirting with the bartender and eating the sculptural garnishes for dinner, and I knew a bigger location could never fill the same hole in my heart.

Despite the classic Hollywood photos in the restrooms, (only two toilets for such a huge space!) the new Lush Lounge is a different creature altogether. While the old bar was cozy and dark, the new digs are open and spacious, with lots of warm wood features, comfy seating, and a huge window for crackhead people watching. On warm weather days the windows are wide open to the breeze, and it’s easy to find a great seat.

The drinks are just as good and as garishly garnished as I remembered, and the happy hour specials are pretty amazing- $5 for a huge bloody Mary or margarita and $4 for a glass of champagne. The bartenders are exceptionally nice, and although the bar is definitely not my scene, we met lots of friendly people who had the same idea of how to celebrate the holiday.

I think I might even like the new Lush Lounge better than the old, at least when it’s not busy.

Lush Lounge

1121 Polk St
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 567-1918

2 responses

  1. Sean C.

    I’ve been mourning the original Lush Lounge and leery of stepping foot in the new incarnation as well. On every level it just feels like it’s not gonna measure up to the lovingly Old Hollywood sweater bar. But damn. For those happy hour deals, I think I just may. Thanks for the tip. And the news that it ain’t all depressing.

    But this just in: Some potential good karma news for the old Lush Lounge space.

    http://sanfrancisco.grubstreet.com/2010/09/marks_bar_taking_over_former_l.html

    September 8, 2010 at 10:34 am

  2. Pingback: Tenderblog » TenderBits: Food Edition

Leave a Reply

