Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

The Boom Boom Room – Fillmore

I almost left out The Boom Boom Room, having always thought it was only a music venue. A friend of mine who knew better dragged me in there the other day, and much to my surprise it is actually quite the classic bar, complete with super cheap happy hour specials.

The Boom Boom Room is spacious with dark, warm lighting and plenty of comfy bar stools along the bar. They stock the standard bar fare, nothing out of the ordinary. Happy hour was nice and mellow, with great music on the jukebox and little competition for the bartender’s attention.

The Boom Boom Room doesn’t serve food, which is great, because it means one can run across the street to Popeye’s and grab a fried chicken dinner to eat at the bar. Eating greasy food and drinking whiskey in a dark bar was just what I needed to unwind from a long day of working with the public.

Fillmore is a street severely lacking in bars, so I’m happy to have found this little booze filled oasis in the middle of it all.

5 responses

  1. I did have a crappy experience there… we had a big group there for happy hour, and we all got there earlyish (5, 6pm). Along come 7pm, and some guy starts trying to collect a cover charge from all of us. Lame. It also didn’t help that I remembered that guy from when I worked at Cala in the Richmond… guy was always a dick.

    July 21, 2010 at 8:48 am

  2. Sean C.

    Yeah. That’s why I’ve always been hesitant – and bummed – to enter this place when killing time before a show at The Fillmore. Because agreed: There is *no* bar proper within realistic walking distance of The Fillmore to grab a few relatively cheap drinks pre-show. I’ve stopped several times before fully crossing the doorway threshold here because of that. Too bad because the space looks classic dive bar/juke joint fun.

    My experience with The Boom Boom Room is they start charging a cover really early in the evenings. And yeah. It sounds familiar that I’ve heard they’ve asked people already inside for a while to pay a cover after the fact, once the clock strikes a certain hour. Very lame.

    July 21, 2010 at 1:32 pm

  3. I never thought to go there for just a drink or something…the only bar I’ll go to on Fillmore is the Elite Cafe, because they have deviled eggs and make a great Old Fashioned.

    July 21, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    • I can’t quite bring myself to go to Elite. I have an instinctual aversion to paying high dollar for California’s version of Southern food. Lots of their menu items are things my grandmother in Mississippi would have cooked every day, and it’s just kind of weird.

      July 22, 2010 at 8:21 am

  4. Sean C.

    Agreed on Elite. (And I wouldn’t never actually consider it a “bar”.) I got dragged to there years ago for an allegedly ‘informal’ dinner. Nothing like spending a small fortune and leaving still very hungry. Perhaps I should go there for ‘just a drink’.

    July 22, 2010 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

