Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Pop’s – Mission

Pop’s is a bar that before my last visit I only remembered as a blurry dark cave where I would run into all of my Mission dwelling friends at the end of a long night out; I think the only detail I was sure about is that the walls are red. I was happy to discover yesterday that in the light of day Pop’s is a neighborhood dive with lots of charm.

As usual at Pop’s, we ran into friends. They scored the front table by the window and we spent a lazy Sunday drinking fabulous bacon bloody Mary’s and watching people go by on 24th Street. Pop’s has different drink specials every day, but unfortunately on Sundays it’s cheap Jagermeister shots, so we weren’t able to stomach drinking on the cheap.

The music bounced between various punk genres and twangy country, and the atmosphere was friendly and laid back. Pop’s patrons love their doggies, and there were several adorable ones wandering the bar in search of head pets. As much fun as I must have had on those fuzzy nights at Pop’s long ago, I think I actually prefer the mellower neighborhood vibe of the bar during the day.

Pop’s

2800 24th Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 401-7677
2 responses

  1. Rob T

    My dog would no-doubt want to share my bacon bloody mary.

    Please always do mention the dog-friendly factor where applicable.

    August 4, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    • I don’t always know, as I don’t have a dog. I feel like I’ve seen dogs in pretty much every bar that doesn’t have a kitchen, though. San Francisco bars are some of the dog friendliest around!

      August 4, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

