Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

The End Of An Era

I’ve been preoccupied lately, as the bar where I have worked since the beginning of 2008 is closing this week. In fact, last night was my last bar shift. House of Shields will always be special to me, as it is where I transformed from a drink slinger to a bartender with a large repertoire of classic drinks as well as new drinks based on local, seasonal produce. Working a slow shift, while not great for my finances, gave me the time to really play with drinks and learn how to create drinks to each one  of my regulars’s personal tastes. It’s also where I worked with some of the most bad-ass bartenders and met a lot of wonderful people. Monday nights became a special weekly ritual that I will miss dearly.

Word is that House of Shields will be turned into some kind of restaurant with beer and wine only, so I won’t even be able to enjoy it how it was from the other side of the bar. Here’s to you, House of Shields. R.I.P.


4 responses

  1. This sucks! That was a great bar. I remember going there wayyyyy back in 1988, and my friend worked for the old Examiner. One of his jobs was to work with Chris Matthews and after a speaking engagement downtown, I got to meet Mr. Matthews and he signed a copy of his book for me at the House of Shields! it was rather cool at the time.

    June 22, 2010 at 3:09 pm

  2. Sean C.

    Agreed it’s a local crime that this place is closing. What an institution. [understatement] For years, I’ve worked a few blocks away and done the odd coworker decompression there. What’s even more of a crime that they are not going to utilize a full liquor license. Makes absolutely no sense.

    June 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    • They don’t have a choice about the license. Everything is hearsay, but I was told it wasn’t offered to them, (the new tenants.) It doesn’t come with the lease.

      June 22, 2010 at 5:57 pm

  3. Sean C.

    I’m sure you’ve seen this item already but just in case:

    http://www.7×7.com/eat-drink/house-shields-gets-its-makeover

    July 26, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

