Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

440 Castro – Castro

I had been putting off visiting 440 Castro because of the ever present crowd. Every time I walk by the bar it’s packed, and last night was no exception. I was there with a fellow bar adventurer, and within ten minutes of getting our drinks we had been pushed almost out the door by the swelling mass of men. I was sipping on what was basically a double rocks glass full of vodka (what they serve as a vodka soda.) and wishing I could be somewhere with seating after a long work day on my feet, when suddenly the bar took a turn for the awesome.

The bartenders brought out some kind of confetti guns and shot money and drink tickets into the crowd! Everyone scrambled to grab prizes off the floor, and I managed to find $6, which was two dollars more than I had just spent on my drink and tip. Everyone who had found money turned around to brag and check out what their neighbor had, and suddenly the mood in the bar seemed much more friendly. After that we were handed safety whistles and candy, and I decided to call it a night, knowing better than to continue drinking somewhere that serves drinks that could take down an elephant. At least now I have some understanding of why so many men pack themselves into 440 Castro every night of the week.

440 Castro

San Francisco, CA 94114
(415) 621-8732
3 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 440 Castro – Castro « The San Francisco Bar Experiment -- Topsy.com

  2. Sean C.

    I am partly of the weekly horde that packs this place. And can vividly attest that the drinks are mighty strong & the place is always fun. And Nick is hands down one of the best bartenders in the city.

    May 15, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  3. This lack of texting when you’re in my hood is making me think you want to break up with me.

    May 18, 2010 at 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

