Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Blackbird – Castro

Blackbird is the Four Barrel of bars, the kind of place that can make you feel terribly unhip and out of place if you let it. The drinks however are fabulous and actually somewhat affordable for what they are. I had the Blackbird Royale, a mixture of gin, St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur, lemon lime bitters and sparkling white wine that tasted exactly like Fresca.

Despite the fact that it’s hard on my wallet, I have to say I really love that so many bars in San Francisco are ditching the cosmos and creating concoctions filled with bitters and liqueurs that bring to mind smoke filled speakeasys  and underground jazz clubs. I feel like drinking is getting sexy again.

Blackbird

2124 Market St
San Francisco, CA 94114
(415) 503-0630
4 responses

  1. So excited you have discovered my favorite NEW Castro bar — Blackbird! And so excited that I have discovered your blog. It’s a wonderful idea, and I can’t wait to read about your other Castro adventures.

    April 4, 2010 at 12:57 pm

  2. Good to know. I’ve walked past BB a bunch of times on my way to 13. I’ll have to check it out sometime soon.

    April 4, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  3. Sean C.

    Agreed. Blackbird’s a great change of pace for the hood. I love the fact that the Castro finally has one semi-swank place for a more proper cocktail now. But I’m glad there’s really only one Blackbird currently. Cuz yeah, it’s great. But with those prices, not the kinda place you can go every time you’re out. Especially these days: the stiff 2-4-1 no-frills happy hours are one of the few things that make this town marginally affordable. Plus, like all of us neighborhood dive bar fans, I don’t want every watering hole in the area to be upscale/fancy. But Blackbird’s great.

    April 5, 2010 at 4:09 pm

  4. philly philly phil

    Love love LOVE Blackbird. Love it for all the reasons you’ve named. And this blog is great. Found it tonight when I Googled kitchen hours for Blur on Polk St. haha. Consider your site bookmarked and me a fan! Cheers!

    June 2, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

