Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Empress of China – Chinatown

While Empress of China is technically a restaurant bar, it is a must see in Chinatown. There are few things I love more than decaying luxury. This bar was obviously the shit thirty years ago, as evidenced by their wall of celebrity photos.

The restaurant is pleasantly run down, remnants of its former glory everywhere, a little dustier and threadbare for wear. I love it. And the view of Chinatown can’t be beat.

The most important thing you need to know about Empress of China is that they have a happy hour from 3:00 to 6:00 on Sundays with half priced drinks. And while there is no fresh fruit in site and their side cars are to be avoided at all costs, the drinks are strong.

Empress of China

838 Grant Ave
San Francisco, CA 94108
(415) 434-1345


2 responses

  1. Lou

    Great post! I would have never thought to go to the Empress even though I too am a big fan of “faded glory.” In the summer of 1990 (when I was but a lad), my family threw my grandmother a banquet for her 70th birthday. I remember seeing celebrity pictures there then too!

    March 26, 2010 at 10:19 am

  2. rjp3

    Came out to my parents after a dinner here = Summer 1990

    Good times!

    Wow 21 years ago —- it was quite glorious and unfaded then. Much like myself.

    August 23, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Leave a Reply

