Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Red’s Place – Chinatown

Red’s Place was the first bar I found in Chinatown with a jukebox, so I loaded it up with danceable tunes and the party really got started. The owner’s son was running the bar, and he had no idea how to make drinks, even rum and coke, so I used my mad bartender skills and talked him through everyone’s orders; it was actually pretty fun.

One thing I love about Chinatown bars is that they are all crammed into weird little spaces, so the bars have fun shapes and it’s often an adventure getting to the bathroom. Red’s Place is somewhat of an “S” shaped bar.

Aside from the $9 well drinks, (and I think that was only because the son didn’t know how much to charge,) I really enjoyed this place.

Red’s Place

672 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94133
(415) 956-4490
10 responses

  1. Cruisin' for a Boozin'

    I was talking with some friends about this blog and what an awesome resource it could be. Have you thought about making a google map with each bar you’ve visited and a link to the relative post? I usually go to bars in my neighborhood but sometimes I find myself in Chinatown, Haight, Loin, whatever and wonder “what bar should we go to around here.” just a thought, keep it up!

    March 19, 2010 at 10:10 am

    • I’ve got something really special along those lines in the works. It may take a little time though.

      March 19, 2010 at 11:15 am

      • Andy

        AWESOME. Well I’ll keep following along then.

        March 22, 2010 at 10:47 am

  2. my red’s experience was punctuated by the fact that “red” herself was there, and there were all these half-empty drinks at the bar. Someone noted they’d been there all afternoon. Then, as we were sitting there, 4 guys came in and started drinking the drinks. The’yd left midway through and returned, drinks waiting for them…

    March 19, 2010 at 4:22 pm

  3. Rich Maskell

    Hey, I really love your blog.

    I am honeymooning in SF this summer and this resource is worth it’s weight in gold.

    Any news on a google map type thing?

    cheers!

    May 23, 2011 at 2:53 pm

  4. Alan

    Did you try the Ng Ka Py?

    It’s in your second pic, the brown stone bottle with the oval label on the second shelf, second from the left.
    Apparently Red’s is one of the few places outside of China/Taiwan where you can get it.

    Ng Ka Py is a harsh herbal alcohol mistress, but well worth trying.

    njudah – that story about the four drinks is hilarious. I can fully see that happening at Red’s.

    September 1, 2011 at 8:09 am

    • Absolutely! I always forget the name of it, or I would have mentioned it.

      September 5, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  5. Alan

    Ooops, third pic.

    September 1, 2011 at 8:11 am

  6. Alan

    I heard about Red’s from ‘Drinking Made Easy’ on HDNet. The place is definitely not Beretta.
    Tonnes of luck with your bar experiment.

    From John Steinbeck’s ‘East of Eden’…

    Lee said, “I’m going to tell you. And it’s a fairly long story. Will you have a touch of ng-ka-py?”

    “You mean the drink that tastes of good rotten apples?”

    “Yes. I can talk better with it.”

    “Maybe I can listen better,” said Samuel.

    While Lee went to the kitchen Samuel asked, “Adam, did you know about this?”

    “No,” said Adam. “He didn’t tell me. Maybe I wasn’t listening.”

    Lee came back with his stone bottle and three little porcelain cups so thin and delicate that the light shone through them. “Dlinkee Chinee fashion,” he said and poured the almost black liquor. “There’s a lot of wormwood in this. It’s quite a drink,” he said. “Has about the same effect as absinthe if you drink enough of it.”

    September 6, 2011 at 1:00 pm

  7. ROD LEONG

    Hi!,

    I was on my computer this evening and I had thoughts of my Grandfathers bar, which is Red’s Place. My name is Rod Leong. My Grandfather Henry Senior “Red”, the original owner of Red’s Place in which the Bar is named after.

    If you would like more information on the history of the establishment , you may contact me at my e-mail address.

    Rod Leong

    January 4, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

