Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

Swig – Tenderloin

Expensive drinks, rude and uber-yuppie clientele, it’s hard to find anything to like about Swig. However…I am trying to keep an open mind about bars for this experiment.

Unfortunately, I can’t say much about their drinks. While the menu sounds delicious, the reality was pretty disappointing.

Beautiful, but lacking depth and balance. The one positive experience I had at this bar was sitting in front of their giant modern fireplace. Believe me, I really, really wanted to like this bar, but the unbearable patrons in additive to the lack luster drinks made that impossible.

Swig- great if you want to meet the ad exec of your dreams.

Swig

561 Geary St
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 931-7292
4 responses

  1. Tanya

    When I was trying to organize a birthday gathering (which didn’t pan out, and turned into a much larger, happier outdoor BBQ), I called Bourbon & Branch trying to get the upstairs mezzanine for a party of 12. They were all booked up and said, “How about Swig?” I said no. Bourbon & Branch has special meaning to it. So glad I didn’t give in to their suggestion!

    January 23, 2010 at 7:33 am

  2. Delany

    I love “the Experiment”! It’s one of the first things I check after work each day. I thank you and your liver. Keep going!

    January 25, 2010 at 9:16 am

  3. Sean C.

    Unfortunately, this confirms every suspicion I had about this place from the moment it opened. I’m sure I’m far from along in that regard. Thanks for doing the legwork for me though. Bummer on the expensive, bad pours. (Few things put me in a pissier mood faster than that.)

    January 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  4. All the more sad about Swig is that it replaced what was a true classic, The Blue Lamp, which was one of the best bars around. Thankfully, as your blog attests, there are plenty of decent joints to get drunk in the Tenderloin.

    July 26, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Leave a Reply

