Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

High Tide – Tenderloin

(Please excuse the misspelling on the napkin.) The night before last I had a dream about the High Tide…in which the bar was about the size of my bedroom. It had padded leather walls that gave the bar a cozy, womb like feel, the lighting was rosy, and the jukebox was filled with gay house music. The High Tide is actually nothing like that, but it is a decent dive bar. It’s dark except for the two giant flat screen t.v.’s playing both the local and Fox news (always good for comic relief,) and everything is nicely worn in and dingy.

For entertainment the High Tide has billiards and MegaTouch, but I entertained myself by reading about the history of underwear

.

I can’t tell you how strong the drinks are, because overpowering the flavor of both whiskey and coke in my drink were the distinct flavors of musty old books and leaves. It tasted like my drink had been poured in the 1970’s and stored away, waiting for the day I would finally come and drink it. It wasn’t entirely unpleasant, but a little disconcerting.

High Tide

600 Geary Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 771-3145
3 responses

  1. astice

    I will always love the high tide…but what of the portrait of the topless CARLOTTA in the center of the bar? Is that still there? I miss my Korean bartender, the younger…a great bar…except to pisssssssss

    January 21, 2010 at 4:42 am

  2. astice

    I didn’t think you would make it there so soon. I will meet you one day…

    January 21, 2010 at 4:47 am

  3. corrie

    i always dig the high tide. it reminds me of the bars of my youth… the drinks are a bit musty,but fairly strong. i often find the jukebox entertaining, and i feel like something random often goes down:)

    January 22, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Leave a Reply

