Can one person drink at every bar in San Francisco?

The Tenderloin

For my purposes, The Tenderloin will be defined as the neighborhood bordered by Geary on the North, Van Ness on the West, Market on the South, and Powell on the East. I’m skipping anywhere that charges cover, is billed as a dance club or d.j. lounge, doesn’t sell hard liquor, or expects one to order food. Here’s my list of bars so far:

21 Club done!
441 Club done!
800 Larkin done!
Aunt Charlie’s Lounge N/A (they charge cover)
Bourban & Branch done!
The Brown Jug done!
Castle done!
Cinnabar done!
Club Kristi
Club Sixty-Five
The Deco Lounge done!
Edinburgh Castle Pub done!
Gangway done!
Geary Club done!
Hanaro done!
Ha-Ra Club done!
Harry Harrington’s Pub done!
High Tide done!
The Hot Spot
Jonell’s Cocktail Lounge done!
KoKo Cocktails done!
Nite Cap done!
The Outsider done!
RJ’s Sports Bar done!
Rye done!
Swig done!
Temple Bar done!
Union Square Sports Bar done!
Whiskey Thieves done!

42 responses

  1. Aces at Sutter and Hyde!

    January 4, 2010 at 10:45 am

    • everysfbar

      That’s not within the borders of the Tenderloin, so it will have to wait until I do Lower Nob Hill. Don’t worry though, I am going to ALL of the bars!

      January 4, 2010 at 11:21 am

      • my bad, I was so excited to see this list, I neglected to think about Geary being below Sutter. Can’t wait!

        January 4, 2010 at 7:41 pm

  2. randallkoll

    Olive on Larkin and Olive Alley (near Geary)!

    January 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    • everysfbar

      Billed as a restaurant/lounge, it doesn’t make the cut. I would like to go there some time to check out the food though. It sounds delicious!

      January 4, 2010 at 12:26 pm

  3. You know I’m there when you’re doing Bourbon & Branch. And if you need any agents to help you tackle other neighborhoods (bless your liver), I’m game. Especially when you end up doing the Richmond!

    January 4, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    • everysfbar

      I have a reservation at B&B tomorrow, so I could only do that if you wanted to meet us in the library afterward. Short notice, I know.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      • Tanya

        Not sure if I can, then. But I’ll check out Swig with you! And I’ll help you come up with lists.

        January 4, 2010 at 2:50 pm

  4. Oh, also, I really wanna participate in any North Beach shennanigans.

    January 4, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    • everysfbar

      Absolutely! We can visit Brigid and Joanna.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:42 pm

  5. wally

    gold dust lounge?

    January 4, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    • everysfbar

      It’s on the border of the TL, but I was considering hitting it with the FINI bars. Not sure though. I do love that place!

      January 4, 2010 at 2:42 pm

  6. Eagerly awaiting your report on the Geary Club.

    January 4, 2010 at 1:11 pm

  7. Drew

    actually Bearracuda is a semi-monthly party that occurs at the Deco Lounge . . . not sure what your rules are regarding that, but it seems to me you only need to get a drink at Deco.

    January 4, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    • everysfbar

      Thanks for the tip! I’m doing research online and it’s not always accurate.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  8. Bambuddha Lounge?

    January 4, 2010 at 1:38 pm

  9. David G

    If you’re going to say you’re doing “every bar” then you should do every bar. Olive is a bar, regardless of how they define themselves. If it has a counter that you sit or stand at with liquor behind it and a person to serve it to you, it’s a bar.

    January 4, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    • everysfbar

      I respect your opinion, but in mine there is a distinct difference between a place with a bar and a bar. These are the parameters I set for myself to try and weed out businesses that are more restaurant or lounge like and don’t have that true “bar feel” to me. I can’t go to every restaurant and lounge just to see if it leans more toward feeling like an actual bar, so I am using the descriptions the business owners and customers put online to rule out places that don’t count for this project.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  10. Dave

    Great idea! I love that you started with the Tenderloin. One general comment: 3 bars / night doesn’t seem like a very convincing pace….

    January 4, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    • everysfbar

      I want to experience every bar in San Francisco, but there is no time limit. If I tried to average more than three a night, I would lose my job and therefore my funding for this project.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:22 pm

  11. andrewsousa

    Don’t forget visit 2lips on Market, which used to be Judy’s Place. They had a nice deal the last time we went. A beer, shot and lottery ticket for five bucks.

    January 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • everysfbar

      Are you sure it’s still called 2Lips? My sources said it was gone. I’m trying to get confirmation. I will definitely go to whatever bar is there.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      • pAAt

        1. Not 2lips, I think it’s called Hot Spot. It was open on Saturday.

        2. Cool idea in general.

        3. I’m pretty sure there is a really sketchy looking bar called KumBak or Kum Bak Club, or something. It’s around Ellis and Jones. Be careful.

        January 4, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      • everysfbar

        Aha! Yes, It was the Hot Spot that I was thinking replaced 2Lips. It’s on the list. I think the KumBak Club or whatever may be more of a place with dj’s and a cover charge, if I have heard correctly, which means it isn’t going on this list. I am kind of intrigued though. The scariest bars often turn out to be the most fun.

        January 4, 2010 at 3:07 pm

      • The Kum Bak Club is at 486 Ellis. Here’s a picture I took:

        January 4, 2010 at 11:14 pm

      • I think my image got stripped out. Here’s the URL: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bradlauster/2216720321/

        I’ve been past the place plenty of times – definitely no cover. The place is dump. Yelp says it’s closed, but if you read the recent reviews, they say it’s not closed: http://www.yelp.com/biz/kum-bak-klub-san-francisco

        Good luck!

        January 4, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  12. DK

    2lips – on market between larkin and van ness. let me know when you want to go. 🙂

    January 4, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    • everysfbar

      I heard 2Lips closed and is now something else? I had it on the list but took it off. Can you confirm?

      January 4, 2010 at 2:44 pm

  13. DK

    went there sat night – so, yeah, the bar is def open. that said, it might be called something different now – i’ll check and post back here.

    🙂

    January 4, 2010 at 2:50 pm

  14. I’d consider ‘The Ambassador’ across the street from Rye more of a bar than a restaurant/lounge place. However, they do have a kitchen (mostly bar snacky things) and a bottle service/table reservation thingy that starts after ten or so. If you roll there early though I’ve never had to pay a cover, always found a table, and the prices are decent. Bonus: cozy round booths with vintage rotary phones you can use to call up and surprise other booths with.

    January 4, 2010 at 8:49 pm

  15. Anna

    Farallon is a restaurant

    January 5, 2010 at 9:33 am

  16. Josh

    Koko’s, Vertigo, Blur, Hemlock tavern, R-bar, Lush lounge, Mayes, McTeagues, Kimo’s

    That’s Geary to Pine, on or near Polk. There are more, too.

    January 5, 2010 at 11:50 am

    • everysfbar

      Definitely on the list, but I’m only doing bars South of Geary for the TL portion.

      January 5, 2010 at 5:05 pm

  17. Josh

    Vertigo, Lush Lounge, Mayes, McTeagues, R-Bar, Hemlock Tavern, Kimo’s…

    January 5, 2010 at 11:52 am

  18. Pingback: The Lush and Lofty San Francisco Bar Experiment « Grub Block

  19. juanrapido

    Hanaro is my favorite tendo bar. Please let me know when you are going — I’d love to join you.

    January 6, 2010 at 7:26 am

  20. Neat concept and great execution.

    Maybe combine this with a Twitter feed and give an hour or two heads-up about which bar you’ll be visiting? Would need to discourage mashers, but would be a way to cultivate a following.

    Thanks for blazing this trail.

    January 6, 2010 at 7:33 am

  21. Rosie

    New Delhi Bar!!! on Ellis in between Mason and Cyrial Magnin

    January 6, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    • everysfbar

      I’m not going to restaurant bars this time around, maybe next time.

      January 6, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  22. TLDenizen

    Don’t forget about the Gangway (allegedly the oldest bar in SF?) on Larkin & Geary

    January 21, 2010 at 1:32 am

    • There is a post about my trip to the Gangway a few days ago. It’s definitely not one of the oldest bars in San Francisco, but it is a good one.

      January 21, 2010 at 9:02 am

  23. Pingback: A list to tell the liver who’s boss « Tenderblog

Leave a Reply

